The complete and utter list of Lib Dem MPs’ first tweets

Twitter logoThere are currently 45 Lib Dem MPs on Twitter, according to this list curated by Mark Pack. Thanks to Twitter’s #FirstTweet website gizmo we can see the first words of wisdom the party’s elected representatives chose to offer the world. I mean, who wouldn’t want to?

Read this list and you’ll discover who the first Lib Dem MP to tweet was*, who talked about themselves in the third person, and which former cabinet minister asked in 2009, “Wondering if any bankers actually understand what is going on.” And, riddle me this, how did Greg Mulholland’s first tweet manage to be a re-tweet of himself?

* Duncan Hames (May 2007), though he wasn’t an MP at the time; Lynne Featherstone was the first elected Lib Dem MP to tweet (March 2008).

Here’s the complete list…

Danny Alexander (@dannyalexander)

Norman Baker (@NormanBakerMP) (re-tweeted a tweet he’s mentioned in)

Gordon Birtwistle (@GBirtwistle_MP)

Tom Brake (@thomasbrake)

Annette Brooke (@Annette4MDNP)

Malcolm Bruce (@malcolmbruce)

Paul Burstow (@PaulBurstow)

Lorely Burt (@LorelyBurt)

Vince Cable (@vincecable)

Ming Campbell (@MingCampbellMP)

Alistair Carmichael (@acarmichaelmp)

Nick Clegg (@nick_clegg)

Mike Crockart (@CrockartMP)

Ed Davey (@EdwardDaveyMP)

Tim Farron (@timfarron)

Lynne Featherstone (@lfeatherstone)

Don Foster (@DonFosterMP)

Andrew George (@AndrewGeorgeLD)

Stephen Gilbert (@stephen_gilbert)

Duncan Hames (@duncanhames)

Nick Harvey (@NickHarveyND)

David Heath (@DavidHeathMP)

John Hemming (@johnhemmingmp)

Martin Horwood (@MartinChelt)

Simon Hughes (@SimonHughesMP)

Mark Hunter (@markhuntermp)

Julian Huppert (@julianhuppert)

Charles Kennedy (@charles_kennedy)

Norman Lamb (@normanlamb)

John Leech (@johnleechmcr)

Michael Moore (@MichaelMooreMP)

Greg Mulholland (@GregMulholland1)

Tessa Munt (@tessamunt)

John Pugh (@johnpughmp)

Adrian Sanders (@adriansandersmp)

Ian Swales (@iswales)

Jo Swinson (@joswinson)

Mike Thornton (@Mike4Eastleigh)

David Ward (@DavidWardMP)

Steve Webb (@stevewebb1)


Mark Williams (@mark4ceredigion)

Roger Williams (@RogerWilliamsLD)

Stephen Williams (@swilliamsmp)

Jenny Willott (@JennyWillott)

Simon Wright (@SimonWrightMP)

* Stephen was Editor (and Co-Editor) of Liberal Democrat Voice from 2007 to 2015, and writes at The Collected Stephen Tall.

Read more by .
This entry was posted in News.
Advert

5 Comments

  • Hi. You’re missing @stevewebb1.

  • Caron Lindsay Caron Lindsay 21st Mar '14 - 8:49am

    Jo gets away with tweeting in the third person because that was what you did in 2008. She also was one of the first to link up Facebook and Twitter with an app called selective tweets and everyone did third person Facebook statuses then which we now look back on with faint embarrassment at their pretension.

    Farron’s is my favourite.

  • I notice that Nick Clegg’s first tweet was “Government must act on Zimbabwe”.
    As he has been Deputy Prime Minister for four of the six years since this message and this is not a statement which most Conservatives would disagree with can anyone remind me what action he has taken?

  • Chris Keating 22nd Mar '14 - 9:08am

    For completeness and transparency, Stephen Tall’s first tweet was “Working frantically”.

    Mark Pack’s was “Eating chocolate”.

    😉

Post a Comment

Lib Dem Voice welcomes comments from everyone but we ask you to be polite, to be on topic and to be who you say you are. You can read our comments policy in full here. Please respect it and all readers of the site.

To have your photo next to your comment please signup your email address with Gravatar.

Your email is never published. Required fields are marked *

*
*
Please complete the name of this site, Liberal Democrat ...?

Advert



Recent Comments

  • Michael Cole
    test...
  • George Thomas
    I'm struggling to see why this person has joined the LD's other than to stay in local politics? Community leaders who care about the town could also describe th...
  • Helen Dudden
    Dear Ed, other countries leave us behind with moving on Transport and green issues. France and EDF energy has been raised by 4%, Spain free travel in some ar...
  • Jeff
    Fiona 11th Aug '22 - 9:20am: The Scottish “Greens” proved their lack of environmental credibility when they campaigned for the 2014 White Paper o...
  • expats
    Jon Tandy......“Ultimately, the Labour Party I joined 35 years ago is gone. The influence of Corbyn and Momentum is still present like a nasty hangover, espec...