Full list of Lib Dem MPs

Here’s the list – let me know any omissions …

Lib Dem MPs:
Danny Alexander, Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey
Norman Baker, Lewes
Alan Beith, Berwick-upon-Tweed
Gordon Birtwistle, Burnley – NEWLY ELECTED
Tom Brake, Carshalton and Wallington
Annette Brooke, Mid Dorset and North Poole
Jeremy Browne, Taunton
Malcolm Bruce, Gordon
Paul Burstow, Sutton and Cheam
Lorely Burt, Solihull
Vincent Cable, Twickenham
Menzies Campbell, North East Fife
Alistair Carmichael, Orkney and Shetland
Nick Clegg, Sheffield Hallam
Michael Crockart, Edinburgh West – NEWLY ELECTED
Edward Davey, Kingston and Surbiton
Tim Farron, Westmorland and Lonsdale
Lynne Featherstone, Hornsey and Wood Green
Don Foster, Bath
Andrew George, St Ives
Stephen Gilbert, St Austell & Newquay – NEWLY ELECTED
Duncan Hames, Chippenham – NEWLY ELECTED
Mike Hancock, Portsmouth South
Nick Harvey, North Devon
David Heath, Somerton and Frome
John Hemming, Birmingham Yardley
Martin Horwood, Cheltenham
Simon Hughes, North Southwark and Bermondsey
Chris Huhne, Eastleigh
Mark Hunter, Cheadle
Julian Huppert, Cambridge – NEWLY ELECTED
Charles Kennedy, Ross, Skye and Lochaber
Norman Lamb, North Norfolk
David Laws, Yeovil
John Leech, Manchester Withington
Stephen Lloyd, Eastbourne – NEWLY ELECTED
Michael Moore, Tweeddale, Ettrick and Lauderdale
Greg Mulholland, Leeds North West
Tessa Munt, Wells – NEWLY ELECTED
John Pugh, Southport
Alan Reid, Argyll and Bute
Dan Rogerson, North Cornwall
Bob Russell, Colchester
Adrian Sanders, Torbay
Robert Smith, West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine
Andrew Stunell, Hazel Grove
Ian Swales, Redcar – NEWLY ELECTED
Jo Swinson, East Dunbartonshire
Sarah Teather, Brent Central
John Thurso, Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross
David Ward, Bradford East – NEWLY ELECTED
Steve Webb, Thornbury & Yate
Simon Wright, Norwich South – NEWLY ELECTED
Mark Williams, Ceredigion
Roger Williams, Brecon and Radnorshire
Stephen Williams, Bristol West
Jenny Willott, Cardiff Central

Defeated MPs:
Sandra Gidley, Romsey, 2000-10
Julia Goldsworthy, Falmouth and Camborne, 2005-10
Evan Harris, Oxford West and Abingdon, 1997-2010
Paul Holmes, Chesterfield, 2001-10
Susan Kramer, Richmond Park, 2005-10
Lembit Öpik, Montgomeryshire, 1997-2010
Willie Rennie, Dunfermline and West Fife, 2006-10
Paul Rowen, Rochdale, 2005-10

Read more by .
This entry was posted in News.


  • Susan Gaszczak 7th May '10 - 10:03am

    Julian Huppert – Cambridge

  • Jeremy Hargreaves 7th May '10 - 10:09am

    Surely not Emma Nicholson in Torridge & W Devon?

  • Alan Beith – Berwick, still to declare?

  • Jeremy Hargreaves 7th May '10 - 10:12am

    Anyone know what’s happened/happening in Chippenham (notional LD seat)

  • The Oxford Gerrymander.

    Total votes for both seats: Con 33.6k, LD, 41k, Lab 27.9k

    Seats gained: Con 1, LD, 0, Lab 1

  • Isn’t Oldham at a recount? Potential gain, still, although the way things have been going …

  • As a TorI wanted you lot to do well and give Labour a run for their money. However, I fear the Lib Dems are so steeped in anti-Toryism that they can’t bring themselves to put the necessary effort into taking Labour seats. I mean seriously, what the Hell were you lot doing pouring resources into SW Surrey?

  • Don’t forget Naomi Long in Belfast East – The Alliance Party of Northern Ireland is the sister party of the Lib Dems in NI.

  • 23% of the vote is a disappointment but only when compared with the expectations aroused by some of the opinion polls. The real disappointment will be if we continue with an electoral system which gives a handful of seats to a party with nearly a quarter of the popular vote.

  • Jeremy Hargreaves 7th May '10 - 10:42am

    Yes interesting whether Naomi Long takes the LD whip or not

  • Mike Crockart in Edin. West is a new MP too, though we’ve held the seat since 1997

  • Such a shame to see the number of women LD MPs fall.

  • We’ll all have those we most miss, but I’m gutted for Julia, Evan and Willie. Let alone so many great people who didn’t quite make it.

  • Can’t see Willie Rennie’s name anywhere, I’ll check the BBC election site.

  • A new try: Richard Younger-Ross was defeated in Newton Abbot, and isn’t listed there yet.

  • @Jeremy, Naomi has always said that she won’t take the whip because she was not elected as a Lib Dem, but it seems likely that she will vote with the Lib Dems on a lot of issues because she has a similar ideology. Perhaps if Gerry Lynch (East Antrim) or David Ford had been elected it might have been a different matter since both are also Liberal Democrats. However, the first one in sets the precedent, so Naomi won’t take the whip.

  • In addition to being ecstatic about East Belfast, I am very pleased that we retained Eastleigh and Westmoreland & Lonsdale and equally pleased about Brent Central. We have retained some fantastic MPs. Unfortunately we also lost some fantastic MPs. All in all it was a dreadful night to be a Liberal Democrat. All in all, it was not a great night to be a Lib Dem.

    On a lighter note, I heard someone say that the Lembit losing his seat was a win for the Tories and the Liberal Democrats.

  • Libdems RIP

    Susan Kramer: annoying voice
    Lembit Opik: a joker who let the party down
    Julia Goldworthy: £1500 on a ROCKING CHAIR (get out!)

  • Thanks for providing a list of new MPs elected for Liberal Democrts. Still cannot get my head round Fred Macintosh not being elected in Edinburgh South.Iam glad I dont have Nick Cleggs job. We have to carry on whatever the outcome.

    Best Wishes
    George Boyd
    Midlothian Lib Dems Scotland

  • Mirror mirror on the wall
    Younger-Ross missing from the fall
    Defeated MP list needs updating
    Voted Lib Dem got Cameron – I’m hating!

Post a Comment

Lib Dem Voice welcomes comments from everyone but we ask you to be polite, to be on topic and to be who you say you are. You can read our comments policy in full here. Please respect it and all readers of the site.

To have your photo next to your comment please signup your email address with Gravatar.

Your email is never published. Required fields are marked *

Please complete the name of this site, Liberal Democrat ...?


Recent Comments

  • David Evans
    Yet another article saying "Vote for what the powers that be want - a small, centralised, all-powerful and most importantly easily controlled group to surround ...
  • John Medway
    @Brad Burrows - I agree entirely (apart from the figures you have since corrected). I may have given the impression that I think inflation is an unalloyed evil,...
  • Barry Lofty
    Sorry just revisited my earlier post and realised I should have written " tiny steps"???...
  • Roger Billins
    I have just watched Edge of War, the film based on Robert Harris’ novel, Munich. A brilliant film but the similarities of where we are with Russia now are sta...
  • John Marriott
    My first response, rather tongue in cheek, was “You pay them”. Call that cynicism if you like; but I sincerely believe that councillors should not be out of...