Elected Lib Dem Bloggers: The List

There’s still time to vote in the 2007 Lib Dem Blog of the Year contest, to nominate blogs for our expert panel. Find out more here.

But who, you may struggle to recall, is a publicly-elected Lib Dem blogger from amongst the many you’ve read? How many bloggers we read are secretly councillors? How many elected parliamentarians blog? How many blogs are actually eligible for the category?

I asked Mark Pack f he held such a list. He didn’t. I have therefore set out to compile one, despite my better judgement that this will be a boring and thankless task; but such a list probably ought to exist. It combines well with reading aroundly widely for the purposes of composing the Golden Dozen, at least!

This is an unofficial long list of everything which strikes me as eligible for the elected representative category, but not being one of the judges my opinion is clearly not final. They’re listed as ordered on Lib Dem blogs.

I have somewhat arbitrarily excluded elected contributors to Lib Dem Voice, given the nature of this blog. I’ve included Stephen Tall and Lynne Featherstone in the list, but noted (*) that they can’t win as they are the contest’s judges. Blogs that are not listed on Lib Dem Blogs are also marked (~).

My first stab is below; let me know which blogs I’ve doubtless missed. Where an individual holds offices in more than one body, I have listed the larger authority (somewhat hypocritically for a decentraliser and federalist!).

  • Adrian Sanders MP’s My Space page – Adrian Sanders, MP for Torbay
  • Niles’s blog – Alex Foster, Nottingham City Council
  • Andrew Milton’s blog – Andrew Milton, Lewisham Borough Council
  • Process Guy – Andy Strange, Luton Borough Council
  • Ann’s Sedgely Blog – Ann Garner, Bury Borough Council
  • Arwen Folkes’ Blog – Arwen Folkes, North Cornwall District Council
  • Liberal Action blog – Austin Rathe, Ashfield Borough Council
  • Bart Ricketts blog – Bart Ricketts, Royal Borough of Kingston upon Thames
  • Belsize Liberal Democrats – Alexis Rowell et. al., Camden Borough Council
  • Blogging 4 Wycombe – Trevor Snaith & Ray Farmer, Wycombe District Council
  • Callum Ringer’s blog ~ Callum Ringer, Bodham Parish Council
  • Moonlight Over Essex – Chris Black, Rochford District Council
  • Chris & Glynis Abbott’s blog – Chris & Glynis Abbott, Redcar and Cleveland Borough Council
  • 3 Ps blog – Dave Radcliffe, Birmingham City Council
  • Republic of Hyde Park – David Morton, Leeds City Council
  • de moribus liberalibus – David Rundle, Oxford City Council
  • Oliver’s Battery & Badger Farm Councillor’s blog – David Spender, Winchester City Council
  • David Walker’s blog – David Walker, Bridgnorth Town Council
  • David Watts’ blog – David Watts, Broxtowe Borough Council
  • Duncan Macdonald’s blog – Duncan Macdonald, Barnet Borough Council
  • Blunt & Disorderly ~ Francesca Montemaggi, Cardiff City Council
  • Grangetown Lib Dems ~ Francesca Montemaggi, Cardiff City Council
  • Fraser Macpherson’s blog – Fraser macpherson, Dundee City Council
  • Weblog of a Liberal – George Beevor, Richmond Borough Council
  • Graham Watson’s blog – Graham Watson, MEP for South-West of England and Gibraltar
  • John Hemming’s Weblog – John Hemming, MP for Yardley
  • Jonathan Wallace’s blog – Jonathan Wallace, Gateshead District Council
  • Lynne’s Parliament and Haringey Diary – Lynne Featherstone*, MP for Hornsey and Wood Green
  • Mark Young’s blog ~ Mark Young, Llandyrnog Community Council
  • Mary Reid’s blog – Mary Reid, Royal Borough of Kingston upon Thames
  • Matt Davies’ blog – Matt Davies, Haringey Borough Council
  • Mike Barker’s blog, Mike Barker, Darlington Borough Council
  • Ming Campbell’s blog – Ming Campbell, MP for Fife North East
  • What You Can Get Away With – Nick Barlow, Colchester Borough Council
  • onlineFOCUS ~ Chris Black et. al., Rochford District Council
  • Paul Crossley’s blog – Paul Crossley, Bath and North East Somerset District Council
  • The Brunswick Blog ~ Paul Elgood, Brighton & Hove City Council
  • Paul Massey’s Swindon Village blog – Paul Massey, Cheltenham Borough Council
  • Focus on Sodbury, Yate and Dodington – Paul Hulbert, Dodington Parish Council
  • Peter Black’s blog – Peter Black, AM for South West Wales
  • Rhondda Cynon Taff Welsh Liberal Democrats – Michael Powell, Trallwng in Rhondda Cynon Taf Council
  • Richard Baum’s blog – Richard Baum, Bury Metropolitan Borough Council
  • Richard Stevens’ blog, Richard Stevens, Stafford Borough Council
  • Richard Thomas’ blog – Richard Thomas, Southwark Borough Council
  • Rob Nolan’s Lib Dem blog – Rob Nolan, Truro City Council
  • Robert Wright’s blog – Robert Wright, Birmingham City Council
  • Combe Down ward blog – Roger Symonds and Cherry Beath, Bath and North East Somerset District Council
  • Sajjad Karim’s blog – Sajjad Karim, MEP for North West England
  • Romsey Redhead – Sandra Gidley, MP for Romsey
  • Politically Restricted – Southwark Lib Dem Group, Southwark Borough Council
  • Shiraz Mirza’s blog ~ Shiraz Mirza, Royal Borough of Kingston Upon Thames
  • Stephen Robinson’s blog – Stephen Robinson, Writtle Parish Council
  • A Liberal Goes A Long Way – Stephen Tall*, Oxford City Council
  • The Webb Log – Steve Webb, MP for Northavon
  • Susan Gaszczak’s blog – Susan Gaszczak, Bedfordshire County Council
  • Tim Kent’s Whitchuch Park blog – Tim Kent, Bristol City Council
  • In My Shoes – Tom Brake, MP for Carshalton and Wallington
  • Finally, there is one Lib Dem parliamentarian who is ineligible as the award specifies an elected holder of public office:

  • Eric Avebury’s blog ~ Eric Avebury, 4th Baron Avebury
  • Perhaps we’ll soon see him returned to an elected upper chamber and thus eligible for this award. If not, maybe the category should be changed next year to include Lord Avebury and any other ermine-clad bloggers who join him in the next twelve months?

    Read more by or more about , , or .
    This entry was posted in Best of the blogs.


    Post a Comment

    Lib Dem Voice welcomes comments from everyone but we ask you to be polite, to be on topic and to be who you say you are. You can read our comments policy in full here. Please respect it and all readers of the site.

    To have your photo next to your comment please signup your email address with Gravatar.

    Your email is never published. Required fields are marked *

    Please complete the name of this site, Liberal Democrat ...?


    Recent Comments

    • Joe Bourke
      Peter Martin, a tax reducer works in the same way as a personal allowance and operates through PAYE coding and self-assessment. The main difference between t...
    • Peter Hirst
      Neither candidate can be expected to view the cost of living crisis as an opportunity for the changes that it forces upon us to help the planet. Whether it is w...
    • Tom Seelye Arms
      Since I wrote this it has been announced that the reason for the raid on Mar-a-lago was a that Trump had breached the Espionage Act by removing and possessing t...
    • Mark
      The Friday edition of Radio 4 Any Questions is also broadcast again at 1.10 pm today (Saturday). Members might even want to phone into Any Answers afterwards....
    • Caron LindsayCaron Lindsay
      @James Pugh: Where we agree is that nobody should be subject to harassment, violence or intimidation for expressing their views. Ever. Where we diverge is...