It’s Jo v Bo as Lib Dems announce Shadow Cabinet

Tim Farron has tonight announced a new Shadow Cabinet to make use of the talents of the newly expanded Parliamentary Party

Jo Swinson was always going to get one of the big 3 jobs, and it will be her mission to bring Boris Johnson down to earth from his flights of fancy.

Vince, predictably, is back in his role as Shadow Chancellor and Tom Brake has an incredibly tough act to follow as he takes on the Brexit brief which was formerly held by Nick Clegg.

Ed Davey gets Home Affairs and Norman Lamb sticks with his field of expertise of Health.

One big omission is someone in the Commons to speak up on Welsh matters as we lost our only Welsh MP last week. Christine Humphreys will be in charge of this portfolio from the Lords.

The new MPs are playing to their strengths, too. Former journalist Christine Jardine gets Culture, Media and Sport. Former teacher Layla Moran gets education and Jamie Stone gets Scotland. Wera Hobhouse will be speaking on Refugees, Communities and local government.

The team also has a majority of women – 16 out of the 30.

Here is the full list:

Leader – Tim Farron MP
President – Baroness Sal Brinton
Deputy Leader – TBC
Exiting the European Union; International Trade; First Secretary of State – Tom Brake MP
Chancellor – Vince Cable MP
Foreign Secretary – Jo Swinson MP
Home Secretary – Ed Davey MP
Health Secretary – Norman Lamb MP
Education Secretary; Young People – Layla Moran MP
Communities and Local Government; Refugees – Wera Hobhouse MP
Culture, Media and Sport – Christine Jardine MP
Work and Pensions – Stephen Lloyd MP
Scotland – Jamie Stone MP
Chief Whip; Northern Ireland – Alistair Carmichael MP
Exiting the European Union (Lords) – Baroness Sarah Ludford
Energy and Climate Change – Baroness Lynne Featherstone
Environment, Food and Rural Affairs – Baroness Kate Parminter
Business and Industrial Strategy – Lord Chris Fox
Defence – Baroness Judith Jolly
Transport – Baroness Jenny Randerson
International Development – Baroness Shas Sheehan
Equalities – Baroness Lorely Burt
Justice – Jonathan Marks
Wales – Baroness Christine Humphreys
Europe/ALDE Liaison – Catherine Bearder MEP
London – Caroline Pidgeon AM
Leader of the Welsh Liberal Democrats – Kirsty Williams AM
Leader of the Scottish Liberal Democrats – Willie Rennie MSP
Leader in the House of Lords – Lord Dick Newby
Chief Whip in the House of Lords – Lord Ben Stoneham


Read more by or more about or .
This entry was posted in News.


  • Lester Holloway 17th Jun '17 - 8:06am

    Can one of them please speak up on Grenfell tower.

  • Caron Lindsay Caron Lindsay 17th Jun '17 - 8:16am

    Tom Brake has already, Lester – but, yes, nobody should ever shut up about such a horrifically avoidable disaster.

  • Lester Holloway 17th Jun '17 - 8:53am

    Sorry, I hadn’t noticed.

  • Caron Lindsay Caron Lindsay 17th Jun '17 - 9:43am

    I’ve put Tom’s comments and Norman’s from Question Time in this piece.

  • suzanne Fletcher 17th Jun '17 - 3:19pm

    thank you for posting the list. there is no mention of asylum seekers.
    does that come under “home affairs” as it is the Home Office that is responsible for them whilst in the UK and the decision as to whether they can stay.
    I see “refugees” is a separate person, Wera Hobhouse, which does not seem logical to me as refugees arriving in the UK are often dealt with by the Home Office and asylum seekers who get leave to remain become “refugees” and there are a number of issues about this transition that Lib Dems are concerned with.
    who would be a good person to sort this out with ?

  • John Barrett 18th Jun '17 - 11:52am

    Why would Brian Paddick resign his post as Home Office spokesman only 48 hours before the reshuffle, which was clearly going to take the Home Affairs post back to the Commons, unless he had an alternative motive?

Post a Comment

Lib Dem Voice welcomes comments from everyone but we ask you to be polite, to be on topic and to be who you say you are. You can read our comments policy in full here. Please respect it and all readers of the site.

If you are a member of the party, you can have the Lib Dem Logo appear next to your comments to show this. You must be registered for our forum and can then login on this public site with the same username and password.

To have your photo next to your comment please signup your email address with Gravatar.

Your email is never published. Required fields are marked *

Please complete the name of this site, Liberal Democrat ...?


Recent Comments

  • User AvatarDenis Loretto 17th Oct - 1:04am
    @Martin I am only too well aware of the lack of any viable idea as to a way forward for the Irish border. What I...
  • User AvatarGlenn 17th Oct - 12:58am
    Frankie. I'm just pointing out the irony of these kinds of youth and internationalist orientated arguments . I don't see Brexit a cliff edge. I...
  • User AvatarKatharine Pindar 17th Oct - 12:33am
    Lorenzo is right to remind everyone of the diversity of reasons which caused people to vote Leave, but it follows that there are no easy...
  • User AvatarKatharine Pindar 16th Oct - 11:58pm
    You are right, Martin, I believe - the Irish Border question does not look capable of a ready solution, despite the fact that the finances...
  • User AvatarMerseyLib 16th Oct - 11:33pm
    One of the very few things I have in common with Jeremy Corbyn is that I've opposed every single "anti-terrorism" legislation since the 80s. Not...
  • User Avatarfrankie 16th Oct - 11:18pm
    Peter, You'd be surprised more poverty means more rough sleepers, he would have more competition and hard as his life is it would get worse....