Evan: Labour has dealt serious blow to reform of the monarchy

Even as the Prime Minister was, according to the headlines, proving his commmitment to ‘ending anomaly of royal ban on Catholics’, his Government was conspiring to ‘talk out’ Dr Evan Harris’s private member’s bill reforming the right of succession and the laws preventing the monarch marrying a Catholic. Evan was not amused:

Despite the spin from the Prime Minister about amending religious and sexual discrimination in our constitution being a higher priority, the Government has dealt a serious blow to the prospects of reform by talking out my Bill. Jack Straw was asked three times to provide either a timetable, a commitment to a government Bill before the next election or any other tangible step towards this necessary and popular reform, but said he couldn’t provide any.

“The Liberal Democrats, with cross-party backbench allies, will seek every opportunity to keep this on the agenda.”

Read more by or more about , or .
This entry was posted in News and Parliament.
Bookmark the web address for this page or use the short url http://ldv.org.uk/12954 for Twitter and emails.
Advert

3 Comments

  • Terry Gilbert 27th Mar '09 - 5:17pm

    My own view is that the remaining perogative powers of the monarchy should be abolished first, as a higher priority.

  • I agree, how about an elected head of state then this wouldn’t be an issue????

    We wouldn’t have to get rid of the Queen but when she steps down there shouldn’t be automatic succession for Charles we should have a referendum.

Post a Comment

Lib Dem Voice welcomes comments from everyone but we ask you to be polite, to be on topic and to be who you say you are. You can read our comments policy in full here. Please respect it and all readers of the site.

If you are a member of the party, you can have the Lib Dem Logo appear next to your comments to show this. You must be registered for our forum and can then login on this public site with the same username and password.

Your email is never published. Required fields are marked *

*
*
Please complete the name of this site, Liberal Democrat ...?

Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarDavid Allen 27th May - 4:42pm
    "I wouldn’t be comfortable with lumping someone on living benefits in with someone who committed benefit fraud so why should we make sweeping generalisations about...
  • User AvatarManfarang 27th May - 4:40pm
    Eddie Those on the streets of Brighton have alcohol, drug and mental health issues. They are not there because of immigrants
  • User AvatarAdrian 27th May - 4:39pm
    Couldn't have said it better myself Psi.
  • User AvatarDavid Evans 27th May - 4:37pm
    John, There is no humiliation in finishing sixth or seventh, when standing for your values. The humiliation is with the people nationally who led us...
  • User AvatarJoeBourke 27th May - 4:35pm
    Duncan, "Land Value Tax unquestionably sound in theory and as such backed by a wide range of influential economic commentators; the challenge is to find...
  • User AvatarJohn Dunn 27th May - 4:34pm
    On a point of accuracy, the recognition of scientists and engineers is not limited to Aldes. Ukip policy is to cancel the tuition fees of...
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015