Brake: fears Olympics will turn into new Millennium Dome

The Times reports:

Taxpayers face a multimillion-pound maintenance bill at the Olympic Park after organisers admitted that they had failed to find a commercial operator to take over the main venue after 2012. … The Times has learnt that the Olympic stadium will cost at least £800,000 a year to keep open. Projected revenues from athletics events and a proposed sports academy will leave a big funding shortfall at the venue, where building costs have already spiralled from £282 million to £547 million. There are fears that the final bill could be much higher.

As Tom Brake, the Liberal Democrats’ Olympics spokesman, notes:

Ministers have presented a vague wish list of legacy proposals rather than concrete plans. The lack of detail raises the fear we’ll still be left with another Millennium Dome.”

Those 2005 celebrations seem oh so far away now…

Read more by or more about , or .
This entry was posted in News.
Bookmark the web address for this page or use the short url http://ldv.org.uk/11177 for Twitter and emails.
Advert

2 Comments

  • Andrew Duffield 12th Feb '09 - 5:19pm

    Of course if we had collected the massive uplift in unearned land values that resulted from the announcement of the successful 2012 bid we wouldn’t have an Olympic bill of any kind to pay.

Post a Comment

Lib Dem Voice welcomes comments from everyone but we ask you to be polite, to be on topic and to be who you say you are. You can read our comments policy in full here. Please respect it and all readers of the site.

If you are a member of the party, you can have the Lib Dem Logo appear next to your comments to show this. You must be registered for our forum and can then login on this public site with the same username and password.

Your email is never published. Required fields are marked *

*
*
Please complete the name of this site, Liberal Democrat ...?

Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarMark Argent 23rd May - 12:29am
    Interesting distinction between transactional and transformational leadership. The hitch we have at the moment is that a transformational approach under Tim could easily feel like...
  • User AvatarCraig Morrison 23rd May - 12:11am
    I was wondering if anyone could answer a question? I was reading that by leaking the memo Alastair Carmichael had broken Westminster protocol and can't...
  • User AvatarMichael Torpy 23rd May - 12:10am
    I hope our ex MPs attempt to maintain their dignity and not damage the image of the party by appearing on nauseating programmes like Ant...
  • User AvatarAlex Macfie 22nd May - 11:55pm
    TCO: OK let's do away with elected local councils altogether and have government at all levels run by diktat from Whitehall and Westminster. If people...
  • User AvatarMike Tribe 22nd May - 11:38pm
    Hmmmm. There's quite a bit of superficial knowledge here. UpD is currently tearing itself to pieces because of the authoritarian attitudes of its leader, Rosa...
  • User AvatarDenis Loretto 22nd May - 11:32pm
    The latest BBC story includes this extract - "The Cabinet Office report said the civil servant who wrote the memo believed it to have been...
Fri 22nd May 2015
Sat 23rd May 2015
Sun 24th May 2015
Mon 25th May 2015
12:05
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015