Has Boris Johonson chosen polling day to bury bad news?

Curious timing for the story in today’s Times saying that Boris Johnson wouldn’t, after all, quit as an MP if he is elected Mayor of London.

Given all the criticisms made of him during the campaign about whether he’s really got what it takes to do the hard graft of being London Mayor, admitting that you’d only do it part time would be most unfortunate. But if you are going to admit it, trying to bury the news on polling day would be the way to go – you get off the hook of having to stand down as an MP but minimise the changes for attacks on you as only being a part-timer who isn’t really that interested in the job.

The media are normally very reluctant to run anything other than fairly anodyne “today is polling day” stories once the first round of morning media coverage is over. It’ll be interesting to see whether they therefore let this story pass or whether they sit up and examine what looks like a rather cynical attempt to bury bad news.

Read more by or more about .
This entry was posted in London.
Bookmark the web address for this page or use the short url http://ldv.org.uk/2625 for Twitter and emails.
Advert

3 Comments

Post a Comment

Lib Dem Voice welcomes comments from everyone but we ask you to be polite, to be on topic and to be who you say you are. You can read our comments policy in full here. Please respect it and all readers of the site.

If you are a member of the party, you can have the Lib Dem Logo appear next to your comments to show this. You must be registered for our forum and can then login on this public site with the same username and password.

Your email is never published. Required fields are marked *

*
*
Please complete the name of this site, Liberal Democrat ...?

Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarLittle Jackie Paper 5th Jul - 11:57pm
    Sorry if this is a dumb question. 'for England we have a wishy-washy “devolution on demand” policy, some regional parties with policies for their own...
  • User AvatarLittle Jackie Paper 5th Jul - 11:50pm
    'Importantly, we need to develop the best policy possible to help bring stability into the region as soon as we can.' Well...with respect (and I...
  • User AvatarGeorge Potter 5th Jul - 11:28pm
    On the funding issue, again I think that's something that would be resolved by reform of the English party. If the English party took on...
  • User AvatarGeorge Potter 5th Jul - 11:26pm
    @Mark It's a good thing I was never a narrow-minded nationalist. Eurosceptic, keen on the idea of devolution for England and naive, yes. Nationalist and...
  • User AvatarMark Valladares 5th Jul - 11:03pm
    Andrew, Let's just say that I have a long memory and a deep suspicion of narrow-minded nationalism...
  • User AvatarAndrew 5th Jul - 11:01pm
    Apart from the fact that it is right and absolutely necessary to help the refugees, it is totally and utterly wrong to put all the...
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015
Sat 1st Aug 2015