Video exclusive: the CK interview

Liberal Democrat Voice at Conference

On Lib Dem Voice: Reportage | Live Twitter Stream | Contribute
On the official party website: Conference home
Watch Live on BBC Parliament

You know how it is. You’re wandering through Brighton’s Grand hotel, and you bump into former Lib Dem leader, Charles Kennedy (okay, it was by arrangement, but no matter). What would you ask him?

Lib Dem Voice put the following four questions to Charles when we met up earlier today:

* What do you think of the current state of the party? Should we be despairing or hopeful?

* What do you think the Lib Dems stand for today?

* Do you support the party’s idea of a referendum on the European Union, in or out?

* Do you want to come back as leader of the Lib Dems in the future?

Here’s what he told us:

Read more by or more about .
This entry was posted in Conference and Lib Dem TV.
Bookmark the web address for this page or use the short url http://ldv.org.uk/1358 for Twitter and emails.
Advert

6 Comments

  • Hywel Morgan 19th Sep '07 - 7:32pm

    Much better answer on “what do the Lib Dems stand for” than Ming gave on Newsnight.

    Charles always answers that on the basis of, well what we stand for rather than trying to tailor his answer to the current policy “headlines”. That’s as it should be but perhaps reflects a wider problem the party has over its identity.

  • Hywel Morgan 19th Sep '07 - 10:19pm

    I feel managing to beat Chris in making the first comment to a new post is quite an achievement :-)

  • Chris Paul, I thought you were a Labour supporter…

  • He is, that’s why he thinks CK would be a more formidable leader than the incumbent or any of the identified challengers – at least from the Labour point of view.

  • Charles makes a good point about a referendum loosening loyalties, and I concur, sucha loosening could only be good for liberals–break the Tories in two and we could actually be in government in the near future.

Post a Comment

Lib Dem Voice welcomes comments from everyone but we ask you to be polite, to be on topic and to be who you say you are. You can read our comments policy in full here. Please respect it and all readers of the site.

If you are a member of the party, you can have the Lib Dem Logo appear next to your comments to show this. You must be registered for our forum and can then login on this public site with the same username and password.

Your email is never published. Required fields are marked *

*
*
Please complete the name of this site, Liberal Democrat ...?

Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarJohn Roffey 30th May - 1:19pm
    The link is to the Huffington Post.
  • User AvatarSara Scarlett 30th May - 1:12pm
    Caron, the HRA is *not* a perfect piece of legislation. It has resulted in some illiberal outcomes - one case which springs to mind is...
  • User AvatarDavid 30th May - 1:05pm
    @Tony All parties actively get some tactical votes, but only the lib dems make getting them the main thrust of their campaign, and that's the...
  • User AvatarCharlie 30th May - 1:01pm
    John Tilley Germans did skilled work: immigrants did unskilled work.
  • User Avatarwayne simmons 30th May - 12:51pm
    Yeah, this seems very tabloid-esque, guys. Also short changes Norman at a time when I would have hoped you, as a publication, would remain unbiased...
  • User AvatarCaron Lindsay 30th May - 12:44pm
    Sara, I think you need to look at some of the cases decided under each article to show how important the HRA is. Until we...
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Mon 8th Jun 2015
19:30
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015
Thu 25th Jun 2015
Fri 26th Jun 2015
Sat 27th Jun 2015