Obama to Clegg: “It’s good to see the better looking half of the coalition”

Clegg ObamaNot content with insulting the chancellor by calling him Jeffrey on three occasions at the G8 summit, President Obama also dealt a blow to the prime minister’s vanity, via his deputy. The Sun’s Tom Newton Dunn reports:

In a second diplomatic gaffe on the same day, Mr Obama said Nick Clegg was more attractive than David Cameron. He told the Deputy PM: β€œIt’s good to see the better looking half of the Coalition.”

Ouch.

* Nick Thornsby is Thursday Editor of Liberal Democrat Voice and blogs here.

Read more by .
This entry was posted in News.
Bookmark the web address for this page or use the short url http://ldv.org.uk/34994 for Twitter and emails.
Advert

7 Comments

  • He is right though πŸ˜‰

  • I love the way The Sun reports it as a “diplomatic gaffe”

  • It must be LURVE! :-)

    Mr Clegg has a better-looking wife, too! πŸ˜‰

    (of course what Barak is really drawing attention to in a roundabout way is that he himself and his missus are better-looking than any of them, especially Putin, even with his latest mistress.

  • A ‘diplomatic gaffe’? No, just the truth – not that being better looking than slimy toad ‘Call me Dave’ would be hard to achieve!

  • A correction from Mr Obamas office …. meant to say “better half of the coalitions POLICIES” :) :)

  • Simon Banks 22nd Jun '13 - 9:41am

    Presumably Peter’s correction was dictated by Michelle.

Post a Comment

Lib Dem Voice welcomes comments from everyone but we ask you to be polite, to be on topic and to be who you say you are. You can read our comments policy in full here. Please respect it and all readers of the site.

If you are a member of the party, you can have the Lib Dem Logo appear next to your comments to show this. You must be registered for our forum and can then login on this public site with the same username and password.

Your email is never published. Required fields are marked *

*
*
Please complete the name of this site, Liberal Democrat ...?

Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarT-J 4th Jul - 12:03am
    Mr Wallace and others - although it sounds fairly easy to just ban MPs from the devolved countries in the UK from voting on devolved...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 3rd Jul - 10:30pm
    Yes Andrew, it does include Crimea, and actually the whole of eastern Ukraine. Self-determination for everyone should be one of the biggest liberal causes.
  • User AvatarAndrew 3rd Jul - 10:10pm
    David, Actually it was Greens 10% Lib Dems 5% in the TNS Holyrood poll (in the non-constituency section; the Greens are not mentioned in the...
  • User AvatarAndrew 3rd Jul - 10:00pm
    Good speech by Paddy! (despite misquoting Edward Lear!)
  • User AvatarAndrew 3rd Jul - 9:48pm
    Eddie, Does it extend to self-determination for Crimea as well? If they had a properly supervised referendum I am pretty sure they would still choose...
  • User AvatarPhyllis 3rd Jul - 9:42pm
    Andrew ""but I do not expect the pledge to be mentioned much if Farron is elected – simply because every time Labour supporters bring it...
Fri 3rd Jul 2015
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015