Same sex marriage bill: how peers voted by party

We reported last night the historic decision of the House of Lords to approve the second reading of the Same Sex Marriage Bill by a hefty majority. 73 Lib Dem peers voted against Lord Dear’s wrecking amendment.

And if you were wondering about the breakdown across the parties — how many of each voted for or against? — then Will Howells (formerly of this parish) has posted this handy graph to Twitter:

equal marriage votes

Figures are from Public Whip, with one or two errors as noted here by Will.

* Stephen was Editor (and Co-Editor) of Liberal Democrat Voice from May 2007 to Jan 2015, and writes at The Collected Stephen Tall.

Read more by or more about , , or .
This entry was posted in Parliament.
Bookmark the web address for this page or use the short url http://ldv.org.uk/34808 for Twitter and emails.
Advert

3 Comments

  • Richard Church 6th Jun '13 - 12:37pm

    So the bishops party join with UKIP,UUP and DUP in their 100% opposition to gay marriage, and in their willingness to undermine the clear wish of the democratic part of parliament.

  • David Evans 6th Jun '13 - 3:30pm

    Or perhaps as a Liberal as well as a Democrat, you could say that they apply different weightings to certain values than other members of the Church family.

  • Roger Roberts/Wales 8th Jun '13 - 12:56am

    There are TWO plaid Cymru members – Wigley and Elis-Thomas. Both supported Equal Marriage.

Post a Comment

Lib Dem Voice welcomes comments from everyone but we ask you to be polite, to be on topic and to be who you say you are. You can read our comments policy in full here. Please respect it and all readers of the site.

If you are a member of the party, you can have the Lib Dem Logo appear next to your comments to show this. You must be registered for our forum and can then login on this public site with the same username and password.

Your email is never published. Required fields are marked *

*
*
Please complete the name of this site, Liberal Democrat ...?

Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarNot Who I Say I Am 30th May - 5:29pm
    I have a wider question concerning why the author of the piece is unable to use his or her real name for such an article....
  • User AvatarSammy O'Neill 30th May - 5:18pm
    Disappointingly lacking on policy. We all know the problem, yet I saw little inspiring there to address it. The focus on the social housing sell...
  • User AvatarDavid-1 30th May - 5:16pm
    There is one Russian judge on the European Court of Human Rights — his name is Dmitry Dedov — and he is not supposed to...
  • User AvatarDavid Howarth 30th May - 5:12pm
    That isn't an argument, It's just emotive nonsense. Functionaries of many states constantly contribute to making decisions with effects in international law. Are you suggesting...
  • User AvatarSadie Smith 30th May - 5:03pm
    I remember buying a share in the then new Wolverhamton Housing Association, it was a community response to need. But I also worry now about...
  • User AvatarDavid-1 30th May - 5:01pm
    "We have to count it amongst our mistakes that we did not take sufficient account of Labour’s tribalism." While there may be much in the...
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Mon 8th Jun 2015
19:30
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015
Thu 25th Jun 2015
Fri 26th Jun 2015
Sat 27th Jun 2015