Congratulations Speaker Bercow

Final result announced 8.30 pm:

John Bercow: 322
Sir George Young: 271

Read Speaker Bercow’s manifesto HERE.

Read more by or more about or .
This entry was posted in News and Parliament.
Bookmark the web address for this page or use the short url for Twitter and emails.


  • Well that wasn’t as close as most seemed to be predicting

  • nice speech by Cleggas well. Congrats to the 157th Speaker of the HoC.

  • I will probabley get in the neck for this but I do like the tradition of the Royal Approbation.

  • Does anyone else feel that the Nadine Dorries / Tory whining has started a bit soon? I know little about Bercow, but surely anyone deserves a chance, at least a few months in a job, before people start their moaning.

    Worse still, the moaning and bitching paints an awful impression of the Commons to the public at a time when the public already hate politicians.

  • Mark – the complaining didn`t start too early. Ber-cow has been one of the biggest expense claimers (hardly then a reformer), he is vain and he has no loyalty. Other than that he is a great bloke!

Post a Comment

Lib Dem Voice welcomes comments from everyone but we ask you to be polite, to be on topic and to be who you say you are. You can read our comments policy in full here. Please respect it and all readers of the site.

If you are a member of the party, you can have the Lib Dem Logo appear next to your comments to show this. You must be registered for our forum and can then login on this public site with the same username and password.

Your email is never published. Required fields are marked *

Please complete the name of this site, Liberal Democrat ...?


Recent Comments

  • User AvatarDav 13th Oct - 5:22pm
    But this doesn’t mean that all ages are equally good, and it is quite proper to have a debate over whether 16 or 18 is...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 13th Oct - 5:21pm
    I too cringed when Stuart Rose started calling people who disagreed with him "quitters" and "inward looking". After a good start talking about a hard...
  • User AvatarJayne Mansfield 13th Oct - 5:19pm
    Lord Rose admitted his support for Business for Britain and his belief that there needs to be reform of the EU, but it seems that...
  • User AvatarDavid Raw 13th Oct - 5:17pm
    Quite agree, Caron. Getting four fat cats : Rose, Brady, Branson and Reed to front the campaign hardly fills me with enthusiasm. Rose has been...
  • User AvatarPsi 13th Oct - 5:11pm
    Has Dan Hodges doen his run yet?
  • User AvatarDav 13th Oct - 5:00pm
    Dav, you’re telling us that the Irish Republic will bow to pressure from Westminster? Yes, obviously. That's how it works now: the Republic is required...
Wed 14th Oct 2015
Thu 15th Oct 2015
Fri 16th Oct 2015
Sat 17th Oct 2015
Sun 18th Oct 2015
Tue 20th Oct 2015
Thu 22nd Oct 2015
Fri 23rd Oct 2015
Sat 24th Oct 2015
Sun 25th Oct 2015
Wed 28th Oct 2015
Thu 29th Oct 2015
Mon 2nd Nov 2015
Wed 4th Nov 2015
Thu 5th Nov 2015
Fri 6th Nov 2015
Sat 7th Nov 2015