Listen: Baroness Williams on her moral and religious beliefs

There’s still time to listen to Shirley Williams on this week’s edition of Belief on BBC Radio 3:

The new Easter series of Belief opens with a conversation between two baronesses: Joan Bakewell and Shirley Williams.

Shirley Williams was born in 1930. Her father, the philosopher and political scientist George Catlin, was a great influence. He bought young Shirley a copy of TS Eliot’s Four Quartets when she was two years old. He also introduced her to the Roman Catholic Church. She has also been greatly influenced by the moral and political convictions of her mother the feminist and pacifist writer, Vera Brittain.

In this programme Shirley Williams talks about the convictions that have motivated her life in politics – and particularly about the inspiration she has taken from the example of Jesus, the Second Vatican Council and the establishment of the Welfare State – a political event she remembers first-hand.

Listen to the interview (available on iPlayer till Monday).

Read more by or more about or .
This entry was posted in Op-eds.
Bookmark the web address for this page or use the short url http://ldv.org.uk/27977 for Twitter and emails.
Advert

One Comment

Post a Comment

Lib Dem Voice welcomes comments from everyone but we ask you to be polite, to be on topic and to be who you say you are. You can read our comments policy in full here. Please respect it and all readers of the site.

If you are a member of the party, you can have the Lib Dem Logo appear next to your comments to show this. You must be registered for our forum and can then login on this public site with the same username and password.

Your email is never published. Required fields are marked *

*
*
Please complete the name of this site, Liberal Democrat ...?

Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarPeter Bancroft 3rd Jul - 1:04am
    David, the two articles you posted suggest that every company pushing for the right to be involved in fracking in the UK has misunderstood the...
  • User AvatarAndrew 3rd Jul - 12:14am
    well, the reality is that our national vote did not increase at all in 2015 up to the general election day, so if Nick Clegg...
  • User AvatarAndrew 2nd Jul - 11:48pm
    @Tsar Nicholas I think it is possible that you are looking at the temperature record for the town of North Pole in Alaska, where the...
  • User AvatarGlenn 2nd Jul - 11:47pm
    Tony Which is more or less what I said in the first place If you read the line you quote in context of the one...
  • User AvatarRuth Bright 2nd Jul - 11:41pm
    Jo - I was quoting the questions fired at Norman from the audience. What concerns me is that he spouted a mantra he didn't believe...
  • User AvatarAndrew 2nd Jul - 11:15pm
    @Tsar Nicholas, I think that while a lot of individual members of the human race might well die before their time due to climate change,...
Fri 3rd Jul 2015
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015