The magical disappearing Iraqi troop withdrawal

First it was 2,000 British troops to be withdrawn from Iraq (the figure leaked to the BBC).

Then it was 1,000 (the figure Gordon Brown told the TV cameras earlier today).

Then it was 730 (after it turned out that 270 has already come home).

Then it was 500 (after it came to light that 230 were due to come home anyway under plans announced in July).

And then it was zero (after it turned out the other 500 are currently not in Iraq but in, er…, Germany).

Read more by .
This entry was posted in News.
Bookmark the web address for this page or use the short url http://ldv.org.uk/1436 for Twitter and emails.
Advert

10 Comments

Post a Comment

Lib Dem Voice welcomes comments from everyone but we ask you to be polite, to be on topic and to be who you say you are. You can read our comments policy in full here. Please respect it and all readers of the site.

If you are a member of the party, you can have the Lib Dem Logo appear next to your comments to show this. You must be registered for our forum and can then login on this public site with the same username and password.

Your email is never published. Required fields are marked *

*
*
Please complete the name of this site, Liberal Democrat ...?

Advert



Recent Comments

  • User Avatarkevin 6th Jul - 2:24pm
    'Doesn’t that wrongly give the impression that all Muslims as ISIS supporters? Islamic or Muslim terrorists would be more accurate.
  • User Avatarkevin 6th Jul - 2:20pm
    Can't understand why Carmicheal is still there or allowed to be by the party.
  • User AvatarSimon Banks 6th Jul - 2:00pm
    Welcome! The good news is that there are many more new members like you; though not all have got stuck in quite so quickly, they...
  • User AvatarSimon Banks 6th Jul - 1:57pm
    A small amendment. In a Focus being produced literally in-house we once just saved ourselves from stating "the police have a hand job" but failed...
  • User AvatarA Social Liberal 6th Jul - 1:57pm
    From now on I will refer to the terrorist group as Daesh. Not because it has a significantly different meaning from IS/ISIS/ISIL (the full name...
  • User AvatarSteve 6th Jul - 1:52pm
    The gunman trained in Libya. How did that situation occur? That's right, your party was in a government that decided to bomb the country and...
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015
Sat 1st Aug 2015