Taxpayers’ Alliance: MPs should be bad employers

With all the genuine expenses targets available, you’d have through the Taxpayers’ Alliance would have found a better target than attacking a Plaid MP, Adam Price, for using part of his Parliamentary expenses to pay for his staff to go on training courses.

MPs, rightly, get to employ staff via the expenses schemes. (How else, for example, would an MP deal with the hundreds of letters and emails that many get each day?) If people are being employed to work for MPs, then in return MPs should be good bosses. Part of that involves identifying training needs for their staff and making sure they get that training.

The training Adam Price arrange wasn’t something completely unrelated to this job his staff have to do. If he’d been sending staff off on courses in knitting yogurt or melting chocolate, then fair enough. But the courses were directly relevant, covering topics such as dealing with the media.

So what does the Taxpayers’ Alliance attack amount to? It amounts to saying, “It’s outrageous that MPs are being decent employers! How dare they! We want bad staff!”

Yes, well.

Hat-tip: Peter Black on Freedom Central

Read more by or more about , or .
This entry was posted in News.
Bookmark the web address for this page or use the short url http://ldv.org.uk/15428 for Twitter and emails.
Advert

4 Comments

  • Dear Geoffrey. Thats,”When”, not “If”. Hopefully the TPA will be as hard on Tory waste as they have been on Labour waste.

  • Some hope given it is blatently a Tory front

Post a Comment

Lib Dem Voice welcomes comments from everyone but we ask you to be polite, to be on topic and to be who you say you are. You can read our comments policy in full here. Please respect it and all readers of the site.

If you are a member of the party, you can have the Lib Dem Logo appear next to your comments to show this. You must be registered for our forum and can then login on this public site with the same username and password.

Your email is never published. Required fields are marked *

*
*
Please complete the name of this site, Liberal Democrat ...?

Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarAlex Macfie 23rd May - 11:09am
    We generally do better in national elections in areas where we have strength in local government than where we do not. This is all the...
  • User AvatarJennie 23rd May - 11:07am
    For the presidential election you had to get 200 voting reps from 20 different local parties to physically sign papers. The traditional method is to...
  • User AvatarEdis Bevan 23rd May - 11:03am
    Nominations for the presidential post had to be from Federal Conference reps. I could not nominate Linda as I am 'only' an ordinary party member...
  • User AvatarJohnTilley 23rd May - 11:01am
    I watched the last few days/weeks of the referendum in Ireland through the lenses of France 24 TV News as the UK media especially The...
  • User AvatarAndrew Ducker 23rd May - 10:51am
    I'd like to understand why people who have enough support to plausibly win are incapable of getting enough nominations. Is it a matter of time...
  • User AvatarMartin 23rd May - 10:47am
    Alex Macfie: I do not think that is what TCO is saying at all. I do not know why an earlier comment of mine is...
Sat 23rd May 2015
Sun 24th May 2015
Mon 25th May 2015
12:05
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015