YouTube ‘cos we want to: Minnesota’s new Senator

This Saturday’s trio of videos doing the rounds takes as its topic Minnesota’s new Senator, Al Franken, who eventually took his seat after a load of legal wrangles – as we covered here and here earlier in the year.

Al Franken was a controversial choice for a politician since he already had a career as a comedian and polemicist – you may be familiar with such fence-sitting, equivocating titles as Lies (and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them) and Rush Limbaugh Is a Big Fat Idiot

Unsurprisingly, the American right hate him.

Now, however, he is Senator – and proving to be a good one too.

Here are three videos of his exploits. The first contrasts American Republican values with the tendency of the American Republican party to invoke Christian values.

The second gives an example of Sen Franken out in the field responding to a mob over healthcare issues. There is a disturbing trend for opposing political activists to shout down any sort of debate about healthcare in the US, so it’s to his credit that he actually managed to have a discussion of sorts:

Still with us? Sorry these have been a little long for this slot; the final one is much lighter. One of Sen Al Franken’s key talents is the ability to draw a detailed map of the US from memory. There are several examples of this on YouTube, but this recent one is much sped up.

(If you’re interested – there’s a version here with his spiel)

Read more by or more about , , or .
This entry was posted in YouTube.
Bookmark the web address for this page or use the short url http://ldv.org.uk/16098 for Twitter and emails.
Advert

Post a Comment

Lib Dem Voice welcomes comments from everyone but we ask you to be polite, to be on topic and to be who you say you are. You can read our comments policy in full here. Please respect it and all readers of the site.

If you are a member of the party, you can have the Lib Dem Logo appear next to your comments to show this. You must be registered for our forum and can then login on this public site with the same username and password.

Your email is never published. Required fields are marked *

*
*
Please complete the name of this site, Liberal Democrat ...?

Most Read

Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarMavarine Du-Marie 29th May - 9:09pm
    @Peter: "They are concerned that some people who work long and hard and struggle to pay their taxes because of low income are actually supporting...
  • User AvatarKaterina Porter 29th May - 9:08pm
    We rarely get such a thoughtful excellent speech
  • User AvatarAndrew Whyte 29th May - 9:03pm
    The "Yellowsurge" (sorry Natalie) is fantastic, but can I issue a plea to NOT turn off these new recruits by dumping 4000 FOCI on them,...
  • User AvatarLittle Jackie Paper 29th May - 8:31pm
    Charlie - 'Zero hours contracts occur because the employer operates in a highly volatile market which is most likely low skilled service sector which is...
  • User AvatarDavid 29th May - 8:24pm
    @Jenny. Indeed. And an anti Tory vote is exactly what you would expect the lib dems to have in seats won with that "it's a...
  • User AvatarTCO 29th May - 8:23pm
    @Peter your example s above are thought provoking. Too many like brianD above reach for the "evil" comfort blanket without ever trying to appreciate the...
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Mon 8th Jun 2015
19:30
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015
Thu 25th Jun 2015